Home > Uncategorized > Here We Go… Again

Here We Go… Again

So, I have decided that I’ll start writing again.

Now, anyone who knows me, knows how fits-and-starts my writing is (and has always been). You perhaps have already rolled your eyes, and decided to wait for this to fizzle out again. And you might be right. But, hear me out, dear readers (yes both of you (look at me trying to pretend like I actually have two readers)). This is going to be different (I think).

I’ve never taken writing seriously. To me, it was just an outlet of thoughts that sometimes stick around long enough, or are forceful enough to make me want to write. Most of my posts have been “vomited” out in less time than it takes to fire up my laptop. Mainly because I don’t spend a lot of time formulating blogposts. Things just come together in my head, and those are the ones that come out on paper. Until the point when that perfect post is formed in my head, it is not coming out.

However, on reflection, I have come to believe I’ve got this backwards. Writing isn’t about putting fully-formed thoughts on paper, or even putting my thoughts out there for everyone to see. What is important, is the process of writing itself. The process of forming and formulating the random half-formed thoughts into something that is much more meaningful. Of connecting the multitude of “dots” that already exist from the everyday life, to create a picture.

And isn’t that what creativity is? Creativity is just the ability to smash two already known ideas together. So, in effect, by waiting for “inspiration to strike”, I am relying on the sporadic twitches of my “creativity muscle” to produce something good, instead of forcing myself to make those connections, working the muscle, making it stronger.

And really, I find that not writing consistently takes away my capacity to reflect, structure and connect everything in my head. Ergo, not writing is possibly only serving to atrophy the creativity which is already in short supply. And by writing more, I hope to be able to reverse this phenomenon.

Now, I recognize that this is probably going to be painful for the readers, in that, the quality (lol?) of this blog will go down. There’ll be some days that will be atrocious, incoherent and random… But if my theory is right, the atrocious and random should decrease over time, and we should see interesting juxtaposition of ideas in later posts. And if not, it’ll be an interesting study of how my interests and writing evolve over time. (And maybe I can finally give up on thinking I write quite well. Which by itself, makes this an endeavour worth undertaking).

And so, I’m going to write. I’m going to write at least twice a week, perhaps more. About technology, about football. About life, the universe and everything. I’m going to write, like no one’s readin.. oh, wait.

  1. June 18, 2014 at 10:05

    Well hello there….long time indeed. You’ll have a reader in me. 😉

    • P
      June 18, 2014 at 19:57

      @Deepak Dude! Pleasure to hear from you. I hope to not disappoint!

  2. June 18, 2014 at 11:14

    🙂 I did this earlier this year, although on a less ambitious scale. Promised myself I’d write at least twice a month. It’s happened so far, and while I don’t know about the quality, I’ve been reasonably happy with the output. And I like that it’s happening.

    So as a reader, I hope you make this work!

    • P
      June 18, 2014 at 19:55

      @a_traveller I hope I can make it work, too 🙂

  3. Vijitha
    June 28, 2014 at 22:40

    Wow. So, you really have decided to be “out there” more.
    Atleast twice a week, hanh? In that case, you’re atleast two posts due. Ahem!

    Well… here’s hoping you will continue, though! 🙂

    • P
      July 2, 2014 at 22:24

      Here’s ME hoping as well, that I’ll continue 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

